Michael Neser Catch Controversy : There was considerable confusion about the legality of Neser’s catch as the bowler’s foot still made contact with the ball after coming out of the ropes.
Brisbane bowler Michael Neser took a first-of-its-kind catch near the ropes in the New Year’s Eve BBL match between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Sixers.
The match was in the balance when the incident happened as Sixers needed 26 runs in 11 balls and Jordan Silk (41 off 22) left everything in their sights.
Steaketti’s second ball of the 19th over was a game that Silk started at long-off and hit a six. Neser, however, cuts the maximum with some breathtaking reflexes and presence of mind to convert it into a catch.
On first contact with the ball, Michael Neser’s momentum carried him over the boundary ropes. Understanding this, the Australian threw the ball in the air before going outside the ropes and completed the catch.
Michael Neser’s juggling act ends Silk’s stay!
Cue the debate about the Laws of Cricket… #BBL12 pic.twitter.com/5Vco84erpj
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) January 1, 2023
Reshamm was shocked as he was controversially dismissed and the catch was declared fair. Sixers lost the match by 15 runs.
The legality of Michael Neser’s controversial catch
There have been many instances of players lofting the ball up in the air from inside the field of play, balancing out of bounds and then completing the catch, Nasser’s effort was phenomenal.
Not only did Michael Neser go further behind the ropes than usual, but he also touched the ball while his body was outside the ropes as he put it back in the field of play.
Fans in general and even on-air commentators Michael Hussey and Adam Gilchrist were shocked as Jordan Silk was ejected and Neser’s move was deemed legal.
However, this was in fact a legal dispute under the rules announced by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) as the first point of contact with the ball was made when Michael Neser’s feet were inside the boundary ropes and at any point Neser’s body was not touched. , Ball and ground out together.
The MCC even put out a tweet of its own to clear the air on the controversial Michael Neser catch:
👏 Quite a few questions have emerged following this outstanding bit of fielding in the @BBL.@Gmaxi_32 provides expert commentary as to why this indeed was Out.
See here for the Law: https://t.co/A1dNCFU9vo#MCCLawspic.twitter.com/OppIx2ufa6
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) January 1, 2023
“I didn’t know if they’d changed the rules so I’m going to give it a crack and thankfully they didn’t change the rules,” the Brisbane Heat bowler told Seven Crickets after the match.